Second Girl Date

It is F****** difficult to meet people. I am a friendly person, one of my first jobs out of college was to greet people and to make them feel special and heard. I was good at it too! Perhaps, my charm or openness is fading away… we don’t go out to bars, nor belong to a gym, or go to church. And I don’t want to freak the cashier out if I ask her to “hang out” sometime. Thankfully, my recent CPR class allowed me to meet another woman, who apparently hasn’t met her quota of friends or is just being friendly. Either way I am hopeful that our coffee date tomorrow will go well.

Its lonely here, right now. I love the people I work with and the people my husband works with, but that typically doesn’t extend to the weekend. We are having the neighbors over tonight for cocktails, hopefully that will go well or the next several years will be awkward as our front doors are mere feet apart.

Back to the point, I know a year from now I will look back and see a clear path. However, now I only can wonder how my life, our life, will form here. Long ago I did away with friendships that were with manipulative or co-dependant to an unhealthy point. So, I had few strong friends in Nashville as it was. Sure there were the ones who were fun to hang out with to celebrate, but that’s as far as it went.

I am not looking to be Mrs. Popular, I just want to connect with a few people here and occasionally hang out with them (if I need to bribe them with my baking skills so be it)!

It will happen and we will have friends here. And we will love it! While a part of me will always feel lonely, missing my dear friends & sisters in Nashville -and that I am still grieving. Its a vulnerable thing putting yourself out there, but in the end I know it will take multiple girl-dates to find a few good ones. So, here is to being open to meeting other people and seeing where it goes!

p.s. If you know of any amazing genuine females in the Portland area who love to meet new people, please submit their application for what makes them so amazing and I will try to fit them in my overflowing social schedule!

 

Leave a Reply

